Letter from Ethiopia

Mehari Leake's letter

D5430/65/1/25 (To G.E. Cockrem, Dewsbury, Yorkshire) DESEM 24, 1973 MEHARI LEAKE ABRAHA ATSBAHA school P.O. BOX 12 AXUM-ETH— My Dear Mother Firest of all Hapy Christmas, Hapy New Year I am very pleased to see your letter of Desember 23, 1973 I have got your book too. And it is very important dicshnary use full wen I become very pleased so much. My Dear Mother I like to tell about the examp wich it was very hard but I have arady pass the examp we were jenneraly 50 boys 30 boys we passed the ather 20 fell. Well anyway don’t forgot me to send letter to me and I will waigh tiny your letter at Axum Post Office. Our Chistmas also bigune January 13 yours is befor us. And in the church it will be a very big cellbration of preast too many people gather in the bath of Quean of Sheba to wash from the water and the prist and the people sleep or pray for all of the night in the bath of Quean Sheba by a big tent. If its possible can you send me a picture of you and your famly I like to send you my picture and my famly in the next letter.

Standardised version: My dear mother, First of all Happy Christmas, Happy New Year. I am very pleased to see your letter of December 23, 1973; I have got your book, too. And it is a very important dictionary, useful, when I saw it I was very pleased so much. My dear mother, I would like to tell you about the exam, which ws very hard by I have already passed. We were in total 50 boys: 30 boys passed and the other 30 fell. Well anyway, don’t forget to send a letter to me and I will weigh your tiny letter at Axum post office. Our Christmas is also begun on January 13 – your is before ours. And in the church it will be a very big celebration. Too many people gather in the bath of the Queen of Sheba, to wash from the water, and the priest and the people sleep or pray for all of the night in the bath of the Queen of Sheba by a big tent. If it’s possible, can you send me a picture of you and your family. I would like to send you my picture and one of my family in the next letter.

Leave a Reply

