Leonard and Elizabeth (1)

Leonard Wheatcroft's letter to his beloved Elizabeth Hawley

D5433/1 : Ashover, 24 April 1657

My Joy & Dearest Love,

My God above knows I love thee as bone of my bone, and as sory was I to leave thee as I hope thou was to leave me, yet I hope I shall remember wheare to meete thee my love, with as reall ahart as ever I did. And my love be no wayes wavering but think on poore me, who am yours all over. and will be till Death us depart, and as vertue doth consist in action, so both my penne, my hand, my love, my sword, my life and all I have are redy to be Imployed and adventured at your command, by the sarvnt of your honourable vertues :

Leonard Wheatcroft

Leave a Reply

